Henry Owen Memorial Award 2015 Winners Announced

For this year’s Henry Owen Memorial Award essay contest, graduate students were asked to consider how the Bretton Woods Institutions should evolve and what priorities they should pursue within the post-2015 development agenda or otherwise in light of the emergence of new financing mechanisms and actors affecting the architecture of global development.

The First Place winner is Christopher Beddor, who emphasized engagement and cooperation among existing and new multilateral institutions and suggested the Bretton Woods institutions continue to leverage their unique comparative advantages as policy advisors and knowledge centers. Christopher is currently pursuing a MA in International Relations & International Economics, Johns Hopkins University’s School of Advanced International Studies.

To read the winning essay, please click here.

The Second Place winner is Genevieve Neilson, who highlighted innovative financing mechanisms for climate change adaptation as a development priority. Genevieve is currently pursuing a MA in International Affairs at The George Washington University's Elliott School of International Affairs.

To read the second place essay, please click here.

We are grateful to Committee members John Donaldson, Kevin Gallagher, and Susanna Cafaro for evaluating the submissions.