Leadership and Staff

Honorary Co-Chairs

President George H.W. Bush

George H.W. Bush served as the 41st President of the United States (1989–93). He had previously served as the 43rd Vice President of the United States (1981–89), a congressman (R-TX), Ambassador to the United Nations, and Director of Central Intelligence.

President Jimmy Carter

Jimmy Carter served as the 39th President of the United States (1977–1981) and was awarded the 2002 Nobel Peace Prize, the only U.S. President to have received the Prize after leaving office. President Carter was also as a U.S. Naval officer and served two terms as a Georgia State Senator and one as Governor of Georgia (1971–1975).

President Gerald R. Ford

Gerald Ford, Jr. was the 38th President of the United States (1974-1977). He had previously served as the 40th Vice President of the United States (1973-1974) and nearly 25 years as the Representative from Michigan's 5th congressional district, including eight as the Republican Minority Leader.

Chairs Emeriti

E. Gerald Corrigan

E. Gerald Corrigan was the 10th President of the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and 7th President of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York. He is currently managing director in the Office of the Chairman at Goldman Sachs and co-chair of the Firmwide Risk Management Committee. He was appointed chairman of GS Bank USA in September 2008.

Henry H. Fowler

Henry H. Fowler was Secretary of the Treasury under President Lyndon Johnson (1965-1968). He also served as Under Secretary of the Treasury (1961 -1964), an assistant general counsel of the Office of Production Management and War Production Board (1941-1944), and Director of the Office of Defense Mobilization and member of the National Security Council during the Korean War.

William E. Frenzel

William E. Frenzel has been a Guest Scholar at the Brookings Institution in Washington, DC since January 1991 when he retired from the US House of Representatives after serving his Minnesota constituency for 20 years.

Henry Owen

Henry Owen was Chairman of the State Department Policy Planning Council under President Lyndon John (1966-1969) and helped to create the Trilateral Commission in 1973. He also served as President Carter’s Ambassador-at-Large and Special Representative of the President for Economic Summits and coordinator of foreign economic policy for the White House.

Paul A. Volcker

Paul A. Volcker was the Chairman of the Federal Reserve under Presidents Jimmy Carter and Ronald Reagan (1979-87). Previously, he served in a variety of positions with the Treasury, Chase Manhattan Bank, and the New York Federal Reserve, as well as the Chairman of the Economic Recovery Advisory Board under President Barack Obama (2009-2011).

Charls E. Walker

Charls E. Walker was Deputy Secretary of the Treasury under President Richard Nixon (1969-1974). Previously, he served as Vice President and Economic Advisor to the president of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, founder and chairman of the American Council for Capital Investment, and Executive Vice President of the American Bankers Association.

Advisory Council

Mr. Mohamed El-Erian

Mohamed A. El-Erian is Chief Economic Advisor at Allianz, the corporate parent of PIMCO where he formerly served as chief executive and co-chief investment officer. He chairs President Obama’s Global Development Council, is a columnist for Bloomberg View and a contributing editor at the Financial Times.

Ms. Ruth Porat

Ruth Porat is Chief Financial Officer at Google and Alphabet Inc. Formerly, Ruth was Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Morgan Stanley from January 2010 to May 2015, and served as Vice Chairman of Investment Banking and Global Head of the Financial Institutions Group. Throughout the financial crisis, Ruth was responsible for the Firm's coverage of financial institutions and governments globally.

Mr. William R. Rhodes

Bill Rhodes is President and CEO of Willima R. Rhodes Global Advisors, LLC and a professor-at-large at Brown University. He is a senior advisor for Citi, having stepped back from full time responsibilities after more than 53 years with the institution, most recently as senior vice chairman and senior international officer of Citigroup and Citibank.

Mr. Jean-Claude Trichet

Jean-Claude Trichet is Chairman of the Group of Thirty, Chairman of the Board of Directors of Bruegel Institute and a member of the Institut de France. He is an Honorary Governor of the Inspecteur général des Finances and Ingénieur civil des Mines, an Honorary Governor of the Banque de France and former President of the European Central Bank.

Sir David Walker

Sir David Walker is Chairman at Winton Capital Management. Formerly, he was Chairman of Barclays from 2012 to 2015. He began his career with Her Majesty’s Treasury at the Bank of England. He was formerly Chairman of Reuters Venture Capital, Vice-Chairman of the Legal and General Group, Chairman of the London Investment Bankers’ Association, and Chairman and CEO, Morgan Stanley International.

Chair, International Council

Richard A. Debs

Richard A. Debs, an Advisory Director of Morgan Stanley, joined the firm in 1976 as the Founding President of Morgan Stanley International to develop the investment bank's international business, now a major part of its global activities.


Jim Kolbe

Jim Kolbe currently serves as a Senior Transatlantic Fellow for the German Marshall Fund of the United States. He advises on trade matters as well as issues of effectiveness of U.S. assistance to foreign countries, on U.S.-EU relationships, and on migration and its relationship to development. He is co-chair of the Transatlantic Taskforce on Development with Gunilla Carlsson, the Swedish Minister for International Development Cooperation.

James D. Wolfensohn

James D. Wolfensohn is currently Chairman of Wolfensohn & Company, LLC, a private investment and advisory firm; Chairman of Citi International Advisory Board; and advisor to Citi on global strategy and international matters.


James C. Orr

James C. Orr is co-founder and Secretary of the Bretton Woods Committee. In addition, he is managing partner of James Orr Associates, a government policy consulting firm whose clients are international financial services firms, central banks, and government ministries.

Executive Director

Randy S. Rodgers

Randy Rodgers is the Executive Director of the Bretton Woods Committee. He is also Founder and Managing Partner of Change Foundations, LLC, a global management consulting firm that assists public and private sector organizations in planning and successfully carrying out their most critical business and organizational change initiatives.